State of the Knitting Update: Stormcloud Shawl, etc

Standard

Stormcloud Shawl in progress

I needed something I could knit during class last week, so I cast on Multnomah (Ravelry) in Wool Candy‘s BonBon Bamboo Merino colorway Blue Dragee.  Multnomah is a simple triangular shawl pattern, just garter stitch and a feather & fan border. It’s lovely, though, and non-knitters looked at the picture when I said “this is what it will look like” and were impressed. Feather and fan is my favorite trick.

I’m still working on the scarf in Silver Sage, too, but it’s been proven that I can’t knit that pattern and pay attention to anything more demanding than an audiobook. (There was a lot of frogging the time I tried to knit it and watch tv. *sigh*)

I got a decent bit of knitting done during the video and discussions in class on Sat, and have knit at least a little on it most nights this week. (I just almost spelled nights “knites” umm…?)  It turns out the lack of knitting in my life since school started back up again was a need for uncomplicated projects. I’m a little over halfway through the garter stitch section so far:
Stormcloud Shawl

I’m also working on the Full o’ Win mitts (ravelry) for a friend. Getting close to done on those:
Wearing the Full o' Win Mitts

Once I finish, I’ve got two more project ideas lined up. I bought this variegated sock yarn from Beemiceelf on etsy because it matches the colors for the school I work at. The plan is to make a pair of fingerless mitts for myself in it to wear at work. I have my blue ones still, but I figured it would be fun to have a pair that shows a little school spirit. 🙂

I also had the idea the other day to make up a hat pattern to match the diamond scarf.  I’m not sure how, exactly, to make that work but the idea has intrigued me. This would be more knitting for other people, since the scarf is a Christmas present for someone, but…I  have all this leftover yarn from the project! I do still plan to post the scarf pattern, but if I’m going to do the hat as well I’ll wait until I can post both.

3 thoughts on “State of the Knitting Update: Stormcloud Shawl, etc

Leave a Reply

